Uncategorized

Recently

I would like to begin with this exquisite Doctor Who-inspired song a friend posted on facebook. 

That said, quick update on my cultural activity:

-I finished the seventh Harry Potter book a couple weeks ago. Two thumbs up.

Darths & Droids is simply hilarious. (Very mild language warning.) It takes forever to read through the archives, but I highly recommend it–even if you know nothing about RPGs or the Star Wars prequel. 

-I read a highly interesting book by Etienne Gilson called Heloise and Abelard, about the eponymous couple. Certainly for mature readers (as anyone who is aware of the couple’s history knows), but extremely informative and quite easy to read. I’ve never read Etienne Gilson before, but he certainly comes highly recommended.

-I’m reading Howl’s Moving Castle at the moment; it’s very enjoyable. I’ve already seen the Miyazaki movie, which I loved. They are certainly quite different, though!

Standard

5 thoughts on “Recently

  1. Danielius says:

    Salve Miss Maggie D!

    I somehow got here from Eye of The Tiber comments section (yes, I’m having a stalk-a-fellow-trad-Catholic-on-the-Internet lazy break!), so I thought I might as well offer a quick hello. 🙂 Good taste in literature and overall!

    Gilson is a great place to start if you ever want to explore Catholic philosophy (though he praised Chesterton’s Aquinas as the best introductory book on Saint Thomas). And I was looking for some examples of poetry (and hoping that some of my beloved metaphysical poets would make an appearance), but alas none to be found, not yet at least! And what’s up with no random youtubes of gregorian chant, vespers or even some classical music? You have some work to do, young lady! (’tis tongue-in-cheek of course) God bless!

    Daniel from Slovakia

    • Hi Daniel! Nice to meet you! Thank you for the compliments.

      I do love poetry. My favorites are Yeats, Andrew Marvell, Walter de la Mare, and so on–I also like St. Robert Southwell. I don’t read as much as I ought to, though.

      As for music, honestly, I don’t listen to much classical music, but I like medieval music very much. My favorite Gregorian chant is Jesu Dulcis Memoria.

      Thanks for dropping by! 🙂 God bless you too!

      Maggie

  2. Danielius says:

    Ha-haaaa, I knew it! Marvell and Southwell, so the metaphysical poets do make an appearance! No Herbert or Donne though? Tsk! 😉 I am not at all familiar with Mr. de la Mare, any collection recommendation? And as T. S. Eliot says in one of his essays, poetry should not only be read, but also recited out loud.

    Well, I fell under spell of classical in the past two years, so you still have more than four years to beat my progress! Nevertheless, there’s plenty of immediate works to enjoy even without a trained ear. Bach’s Mass in B-minor ( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IgWit9uC104 ), Dvořák’s Requiem ( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3eN5EUMXBQo ) or Rachmanninoff’s Vespers ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ifKKlhYF53w ) are among the more obvious ones with a sacred bent. (Sorry, just couldn’t resist to name some of my favourites!)

    How’s your own chanting, young lady? It’s staggering (and a bit depressing really) to think that just two generations ago the chant was sung regurarly all over the world. Oh well, at least there’s plenty of work to be done.

    And this is a bit of a random thought I just came up with, but I noticed that you study classical languages. I recently bought a textbook of Latin (haven’t opened it yet). However, once I do open it, I’m thinking some sort of conversational exercise with someone more advanced might do me a world of good (I think that’s the reason why my English is fine but my Russian and German are shoddy :X). No idea about the format, but I’ll think of something once I decide to get serious. Yay/nay? Probably not gonna happen any time soon, ’cause it’s hot and I’m really lazy, but don’t be surprised if I comment on something here with a horrible Latin in the future. 🙂

    Daniel

Leave a Reply

