Uncategorized

The Wretched Ones

Les Miserables

I’m reading it. I started reading it a while ago but then wondered if it was a good idea, seeing as it used to be on the Index of forbidden books. Apparently, from what I can dig up on the topic, it was taken off before the list was ‘retired’ (it’s actually still binding in conscience, particularly insofar as it’s a moral duty to avoid bad books and the Index contained a good list of well-known ones) and at least one source indicates that the reason it was on the Index was because it denied legitimate authority or something. Not really a temptation to me, or probably to most moderns, so I started it again last night instead of catching up on the repulsively dull and silly writings of Hegel (pronounced like ‘bagel’) for today’s class.*
(Interesting related fact: both St. Augustine and St. Thomas Aquinas say that we have a moral duty to disobey any so-called laws which order us to do immoral acts, but both also say that we do not have a right to resist the state’s punishment for disobeying these unjust dictates (though we don’t have to turn ourselves in 😉 ). I agree with them, but it’s a pretty surprising statement, no? It does help one to understand why the early Christian martyrs submitted to their executions instead of trying to escape, other than the obvious fact that it was probably impossible or next door to impossible to escape.)
It does have some writings in it contrary to the truths of Catholic teaching, but honestly, a rant on how the age of convents and monasteries has passed/etc probably won’t bother me much. Use your own judgment or that of your parents or some other reliable person, of course, but I’m going to plow ahead. If it does start to bother me I’ll stop… won’t be the first time.
Oh, and I might as well add that I’m skipping the loooooooooong digression on Napoleon.
Bad, I know. I’ve suffered through enough boring literature in the past several months, though. Kant, Hegel, Locke, Hume, Rousseau… I’ve had enough.
*Want to know the difference between Hegel and a bagel? A bagel is delicious, but Hegel is malicious. Well, maybe he had good intentions (we should always assume the best), but his writings have wreaked all kinds of malice on the world, so it works.
Standard

Leave a Reply

