Humour, Music, Parody, Poetry

A Parody Offered for Your Perusal

I bet you can guess which song it is! I did my best to make it singable to the original tune, but you’ll need to ‘tweak’ both the tune and the words (contract “I am” to “I’m” and the like).

I apologize in advance for being linguistically incorrect… I’m quite sure I’ve mixed up all kinds of English, seventeenth century and eighteenth and nineteenth and probably twentieth as well. Also, I don’t know if a lyre was something anyone was likely to have within the past few hundred years, but it rhymed 🙂

My love look’d at me
My face mask’d with smiles
so he doth not see
That which I desire, my plea
Oh that a wedded we should be
I know her passing fair
The lady he speaketh of
Aye hers is everything
That I am doom’d to live without

My love speaks jests to me
I durst laugh, his speech is lovely
My sight is blinded, I cannot see
Anyone, as he is with me
He’s taken o’er with love
He tells me his heart is light
I wonder if he doth know
My thoughts dwell on him each night

Thou’rt the reason for my tearstained lyre
The only object of my single desire
For thou dost I pine, grave and weary
Thou knows why I do

My love pass’d me by
And I, depriv’d of breathing, sigh
Look, there he doth go, in perfection strides
Would that I matched him in his matchless pride
Would that she lov’d him dear
Her soul be shining clear
Behold his glorious eyes
While I am drench’d in sighs!

Thou’rt the reason for my tearstained lyre
The only object of my single desire
For thou dost I pine, grave and weary
Thou knows why I do

And I lonely walk home
Silently snuff out the light
Sit and watch, as the fire doth die
My eyes shall not shut tonight

Thou’rt the reason for my tearstained lyre 
The only object of my single desire
For thou dost I pine, grave and weary
 Thou knows why I do

Oh, the time devoured, but there is too little!
Thou art all my longing, my very soul
My love look’d at me
My face mask’d with smiles so he doth not see

Finis

Highlight the following with your mouse to see, if you can’t figure it out 🙂

Teardrops on My Guitar – Taylor Swift
Standard

Leave a Reply

