feasts, movies, random, seasons

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

A happy New Year to all my loyal fans! And a happy feast of Mary, Mother of God!

On a more mundane note, I’ve been watching quite a lot of movies lately – for me, that is. We have it, but I don’t watch television really at all and movies not terribly often. For instance, I just recently saw:

Tangled in theaters. This was a very cute movie. I really liked it. Rapunzel was an endearing heroine, the hero was funny, the villain was fittingly wicked. On the downside: the ending was a total deus ex machina. I don’t necessarily object to those on principle, but it was pretty gratuitous. And the music was so-so, to me at least, though I enjoyed “Mother Knows Best”.

Star Wars for the first time ever. Yes, I managed to get along for 15.5 years without ever seeing it. I liked it, but I like

The Empire Strikes Back better. I haven’t finished it yet, though. We still have 30 minutes to watch (hopefully tonight) before it’s over. But before I move on, Han Solo and Princess Leia are utterly hilarious.

(okay, this was a while ago) My Neighbor Totoro. This movie is lovely. All I can say is go and watch it. It’s suitable for the whole family, saving a scene where the father of the two little girls who are the main characters prays to a tree spirit. I fast-forwarded this scene when I watched it with my siblings – it’s very short. I recommend reading this review highly.

Right now I am watching Spirited Away. I watched the first third of it last night with my sister and two friends and it is extremely interesting… though maybe not for everyone. I can’t wait to finish watching it! For more information, read this review as well.

Standard

Leave a Reply

