language, names, NaNo, school

Correction…

I just found out today that my nanotechnology essay is due not this Thursday, but NEXT Thursday. Yes!


I have decided to go with the Anglo-Saxon names for my NaNo novel. There’s a possibility I’ll discard the second lady, but right now it’s still Elfleda, Aldith, and Gledwine.


Elfleda is such a lovely name. Something interesting, a lot of Old English names do have the element “ælf” (meaning “elf”) in them, but this name actually doesn’t. It was contracted into “Elfleda” but it originally was composed of the two elements æðel “noble” and flæd “beauty”. By the way, I find all this name information off the Behind the Name website, which I rather enjoy browsing around.

Standard

Leave a Reply

